Diary: February 2023

Diary: February 2023

My diary posts are the place for a bit of my news, poetry community news, plus my adventures in creativity

Poetry news follows below if you wanna skip this reflection on dealing with adversity, of being more zen. So I’ve been on crutches best part of a month. I’d like to say this was the result of abseiling or paragliding gone wrong. But oh no, nothing quite so dramatic and sexy. Literally got up off the sofa, figure my foot had gone to sleep, and suddenly there I am on the floor surrounded by broken crockery and bewilderment. Is this, I wonder, what could be defined as a proper old lady accident? 

Trying very hard to be zen about this but there’s intermittent feelings is of frustration which sounds a bit like oh no, no no no, NO! And, why now when things are going so well…

Though this injury is not something I wished for or welcome, it’s a lesson in how the body works together. For instance as I compensate in movement I can feel the pull all the way up to my neck. The worse thing about it is it seems to affect my brain – am somewhat foggy so this may be brief and please forgive any typos. The best thing about it is it reminds me everything is connected. 

Couldn’t help reflecting though how as a child, a very young one, maybe four or five, I remember another child coming into school with his arm in a cast and my immediate thought was – if I broke my leg then maybe I won’t have to come to school at all. It must be one of my earliest memories. Careful what you wish for an’ all that! 

I recall school at the age a harsh, overwhelming and confusing experience. You put your coat on this peg here and your school bag on that peg there. Can I put them together? No. Look for the stickers. My sticker is a banana. I feel a crushing sense of disappointment and embarrassment. I want a sunflower. Can I have a sunflower? No. Do as you’re told! Needless to say at one point I came home without my shoe bag and Mother said, “What do you mean you’ve lost your shoe bag, you’d lose your head if it wasn’t screwed on!” Thanks Mum!

In other news Spring has sprung in Cressingham there’s always a clutch of crocuses under these trees at the entrance to the estate but I’ve never seen so many.  Perhaps they’ve heard the recommendations of the Kerslake report into social housing provision – accepted by Lambeth Council in – and are raising their merry heads in celebration. 

The Kerslake report has recommended a ballot over the proposed demolition on Cressingham Gardens and Central Hill. After ten years of campaigning this is the closest we’ve come to victory as long as Lambeth don’t find some way of backtracking. They are still insisting of demolishing Ropers Walk which is, urm, part of the estate. 


Living here on Cressingham I am constantly reminded it takes a village, it takes empathy and compassion, the more we inform ourselves the better equipped we are to support ourselves and others. We can all be thrown off balance in this world which despite its beauty, joy and rich experiences can all too often only seem absurd, obscene and insane in its injustices, inequalities and destructive pursuit of profit. Demolishing council estates will NOT solve the housing crisis!

COMING UP

As a half term treat off to see a production of Rapunzel, penned by poet Carol Ann Duffy, at the Southbank on Friday 17th February with friend and her son (and no doubt scooter) in tow. 

Sunday 19th Poets for the Planet’s Dr Robin Lamboll will be exploring poetry and communication at Conway Hall, WC1R 4RL with host Matt Lockwood. Reserve free spot here: https://buytickets.at/sundayassemblylondon/838551 Or watch live at https://www.sundayassembly.com

Monday 6th March delivering eco poetry at the Reel News Film show in Dalston. Details tbc. 

#amwriting about dandelions and how slugs get sexy 

#amreading Eat Or We Both Starve by Victoria Kennefick

A blog post by Anne Enith Cooper 

Find my bio here

Contact me here

BACK TO HOME 


Leave a comment