Diary: July 2023

Diary: July 2023

My diary posts are the place for a bit of my news, poetry community news, plus my adventures in creativity

Well the last month has been a bit of a ride. My poetry news first, a contemplation, scroll down for poetry community news and updates. 

I’ve received confirmation of an MA place at the Poetry School/ Newcastle Uni. I will be London based. I received this in a state of unnatural calm for someone who is bipolar. That said this has led to a scramble for funding as it transpires though I thought I’d made an application for a scholarship, that nugget of information was lost and had to very swiftly write a statement to the effect of why me? Fortunately I was in flow and it didn’t take long. 

Now waiting on that and exploring funding streams. Waiting for some sign regarding a matter of the heart has been more difficult than waiting for this but poetry is flowing as has been the fizz with a few birthdays in my Brixton family.

Proud me!

I’ve been contemplating love, communication and the difficulties of making and maintaining relationships in this uncertain time, there are so many pressures on people and in the whole history of humankind the future has rarely been this uncertain. The Cuban Missile Crisis maybe. My mother told me about that though she never said, all that fear and I had just had you. She must have wondered what sort of world she was bringing me into. 

This is especially difficult for people who are traumatised and after all we are all traumatised in some way in this world, generationally, genealogically and some of us personally. I recall the words of Andy Balcer aka the Poet Poke it aka Vader ink, may he rest in peace, when I was relating to him a development in a particularly difficult relationship he was well aware of he said, “Well we’re all twisted darling!” This lightened the mood though had I had more wits and wisdom I might have said, “Well some are more twisted than others, where do you draw the line?” The line was drawn eventually, believe me!

On Cressingham Gardens we’ve had a busy time with a benefit gig and a Teddy Bears Picnic for the little ones. Plans in the pipeline for more events and gatherings. I hope Lambeth Council/Homes for Lambeth are getting the message that we will not back down, we will not let up, we are united as a community against  the insane, absurd and obscene plan to demolish an award winning council estate. It’s been 11 years of holding our ground and we are still here. 


Soooooo what’s going on besides. I feel it’s the last month before the big poetry world slow down, on this side of the pond at least. 

COMING UP

Sunday, 23th July

See a collection launch from Lucy Ingrams, Laura Theis, Jane Wilkinson

Eventbrite invite here

Same evening sees another event from Red Door Poets online at 6.00 – 6.45pm Opening the Door to Julia Webb

“Katie Griffiths will be interviewing Julia Webb

about what inspires her, what sustains her, what tools and resources she uses, and what brought her to poetry in the first place.”

 Tickets are free, register on Eventbrite here

RED DOOR POETS – Opening the Door to…Julia Webb Tickets, Sun 23 Jul 2023 at 18:00 | Eventbrite

Tuesday 25th July 7.00pm BST sees, drum roll…

the virtual launch of the Writers Rebel Rebel Library. I’m new to this team but it’s been a pleasure to work with such warm hearted, like minded people. It will include introduction to this valuable resource, an introduction to the team, with special guests Ben Okri and Laline Paull.

Eventbrite link here https://www.eventbrite.com/e/rebel-library-launch-party-tickets-675972681487?aff=oddtdtcreator

I will be cohosting with founder Liz Jensen 

OUT NOW 

Velvel’s Violin by Jacqueline Saphra


See https://www.jacquelinesaphra.com/

#amwriting about love, scallops, and angels keep popping up

#amreading about how trees talk 

A blog post by Anne Enith Cooper 

Find my bio here

Contact me here

BACK TO HOME 

Leave a comment