Poetry by me: Apocalypse

Poetry by me: Apocalypse

This poem kinda popped out in October or November. It’s had some revision. I’m not sure it’s finished as am aware the first part “tells not shows” while the second part does, I hope, successfully “show not tell.” I feel for the first part to do likewise might entail an epic work the length of Dante’s Inferno…

I’m sharing it here as it’s has received welcome feedback from my MA cohort and gone down well with poets and non poets alike and having posted it publicly in Facebook figure I’ve nothing to lose posting it here. Sharing as an image as WordPress would seriously mess with the formatting.



I can’t help thinking that right now the world seems like a dark place. As I write the slaughter in Gaza continues, yesterday a global day of action took place while a two day hearing brought by South Africa took place at The Hague last week accused the Israeli State of Genocide. There is the light! And figure we need to continue to shed the light on this and other atrocities, shine a light on our own darkness with in and be the light of the world.

Image: London 11/11/2023 Palestine Solidarity Protest

A blog post by Anne Enith Cooper 

Find my bio here

Contact me here

BACK TO HOME 

Leave a comment